Miya Returns to Cranes Squad After Months on the Sidelines

Uganda Cranes forward Farouk Miya is pleased and honored to have made a return to the Uganda Cranes and given another chance of representing his country on the continent.

Miya was left out on the initial Cranes squad that was summoned in November 2019 for the AFCON qualifiers double header against South Sudan in March before the games were called off due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Turkish based striker Miya who turns out for Konyaspor, spent entirely the previous 2019/2020 campaign on the sidelines and returning from injury makes him pleased prior to next month’s action.

“I got injured and spent a lot of the time side-lined last season so coming back is a really big honour,” the Cranes goal poacher told FUFA media.

He added, “It is an honour to represent my country and a pleasure that we’ve all gathered here after a long period actually amounting to one year since we played our last game. I am really happy because the camp is vibrant and we are doing well and working hard.”

The former Vipers SC and Standard Liege talisman is among the 23-man squad that is currently camping in Dubai ahead of 2021 AFCON Qualifiers duels against South Sudan and the 2022 CHAN tournament.

Coached by Jonathan McKinstry, the Cranes are conducting their training sessions at the JA training Centre in Jebel Ali, Dubai and will have a closed door friendly against UAE side Al Nasr.

Goalkeeper Denis Onyango and striker Derrick Nsibambi are the two players that pulled out from the squad as others were hindered by travel restrictions in their respective countries of work.


Players currently in the training camp:


Charles Lukwago (KCCA, Uganda), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume, Uganda), Milton Karisa (Vipers, Uganda), David Owori (SC Villa, Uganda), Bright Anukani (KCCA, Uganda), Saidi Kyeyune (URA, Uganda), Paul Mbowa (URA, Uganda), Samuel Kato (KCCA, Uganda), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers, Uganda), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers SC), Shafiq Kagimu (URA, Uganda), Karim Watambala (Vipers, Uganda)


Bevis Mugabi (Motherwell, Scotland), Farouk Miya (Konyaspor, Turkey), Nicholas Wadada (Azam FC, Tanzania) Elvis Bwomono (Southend United, England) Salim Jamal (Al Hilal Omdurman, Sudan), Roy Jayden Onen (Reading, England), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Allan Kateregga (Erbil SC, Iraq), Alexis Bbakka (Umea FC, Sweden), Alex Kakuba (CD Cova Piedade, Portugal)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker