Minister Betty Amongi Elected Lango Parliamentary Group Chairperson

The Minister of Lands Housing and Urban Development, Betty Amongi Akena was on Thursday elected the Chairperson of Lango Parliamentary Group.

Amongi, who also represents Oyam South county in Parliament, defeated Denis Hamson Obua of Ajuri county and Jonathan Odur of Erute south.

The election held at Parliament gave Amongi landslide victory of 10 votes followed by Obua 6 votes and Odur 3 votes.

Amongi was declared the winner and subsequently took over the mantle of leadership from Dokolo South’s Felix Okot Ogong, who held the position since 9th Parliament.

Obua was later elected the group’s Publicity Secretary unopposed.

Denis Obua new Publicity Secretary Lango Parliamentary Group

The Dokolo North MP, Paul Amoru was elected deputy chairperson unopposed. He served as publicity secretary in the last administration.

Kole district woman MP, Judith Alyek was elected Finance Secretary while Amolatar woman MP, Doreen Amule has become the Secretary General.


Amongi’s administration is to serve for the rest of the remaining tenure of 10th Parliament.

The UPC strong woman has become a powerful figure in Lango sub-region and all major activities go through her input.

In May 2018 she caused the airlifting of Gaga bus accident survivors from Kiryandongo to Kampala for better medical attention. The government footed all the medical expenses, monetarily facilitated survivors and provided funds for the burial of the deceased.


Betty Amongi Akena is the Cabinet Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development. She was appointed to that position on 6 June 2016.

Betty Amongi was born in Oyam District, Lango sub-region, in the Northern Region of Uganda, on 15 November 1975. In 1996, she entered Makerere University, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in political science and public administration. Later in 2009, she was awarded a Master of Arts in International relations and Diplomatic studies.

Betty Amongi was first elected to parliament in 2001. She has been re-elected in 2006, 2011 and 2016. In a surprise move following the 20 February 2016 presidential and parliamentary elections, President Yoweri Museveni of the ruling National Resistance Movement political party, named her Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, despite her affiliation to the opposition Uganda People’s Congress.




Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker