Minister Ajedra Loses to LCIII Boss in NRM Primaries

State Minister for Finance in charge of General Duties Gabriel Ajedra Aridru on Friday lost to a former LCIII chairman in the NRM party primaries.

Eng Ajedra was seeking to carry the NRM flag for the Vurra County MP seat in Arua District.

But the minister was defeated by Mr Yovan Adriko, who served as LCIII Chairperson for 15 years and retired in 2011.

Mr Adriko beat four contestants including Ajedra by a margin of more than 2,000 votes.

Adriko obtained 7,000 votes while Aridru garnered 5, 000 votes. Former MP Vurra and former state minister for transport Simon Ejua polled 4, 842 votes and Gloria Adania daughter to former LCV Chairman Arua Alex Jurua got 4,405 votes.

The results were released on Sunday due to delays to tally results from two polling stations.

Adriko who contested for the party primaries in 2016 but lost reportedly due to lack of academic qualification.

Ajedra served as MP Arua Municipality from 2011 to 2016. He later moved to Vuraa County, his home constituency where he defeated Dr Sam Okuonzi in 2016.


Over 100 incumbent MPs of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) lost the party flag to retain their seats in 2021 general elections.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker