McKinstry Names Seven Local Based Players for South Sudan Double Header

Uganda Cranes head coach Jonathan McKinstry has named seven local based players that will join the international contingent for the AFCON qualifier double-header against South Sudan.

Initially, McKinstry had summoned 22 locally based players from whom the final Seven has been selected after eight days of training and assessment at the StarTimes Stadium in Lugogo.

The Northern Irish was poised to pick six players from the camp, however, an inclusion of one was inevitable following Alex Kakuba’s withdrawal after sustaining an injury while featuring for CD Cova in Portugal that ruled him out.

The final Seven player list has goalkeeper Charles Lukwago (KCCA), defenders Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Disan Galiwango (Vipers SC), and Patrick Mbowa, midfielders Shafik Kagimu (URA FC) Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), and striker Brian Aheebwa (KCCA FC).

Uganda will play host to South Sudan on Thursday 12th at the St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende before the return leg on Monday 16th November at Moi International stadium in Nairobi, Kenya.

Uganda currently tops Group B with four points from two games ahead of Burkina Faso (4 points), Malawi (1) and South Sudan in that order.

The final Squad 



Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal, Sudan), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC)


Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds FK, Sweden), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Timothy Denis Awany (Ironi Ashdod, Israel), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo), Alex Kakuba (CD Cova, Portugal), Elvis Bwomono (Southend, England), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Dissan Galiwango (Vipers SC), Patrick Mbowa (URA FC)


Michael Azira (Chicago Fire, USA), Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makasa, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Allan Okello (Paradou, Algeria), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Shafik Kagimu (URA FC)


Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Alexis Bbakka (Carlstad United BK, Sweden), Fahad Bayo (Ironi Ashdod, Israel), Farouk Miya (Konyaspor, Turkey), William Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel, Israel), Uche Ikpeazu (Wycombe, England), Edirisa Lubega (Paide Linnameeskond, Estonia), Brian Aheebwa (KCCA FC)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker