Masaza Cup: Emayu Brace Ensures Kyadondo Win Over Kooki

• Kyadondo 2-1 Kooki

Kyadondo Ssaza resurrected their hopes for reaching the quarter-finals after a 2-1 morale-boosting victory against Kooki in the second game of Masengere group at the FUFA Technical Center, Njeru.

Kaivin Peter Emayu shinned with a brace as the 2008 Masaza Cup champions registered their first win of the 16th edition on Saturday afternoon in Jinja.

Emayu put Kyadondo ahead as early as the 3rd minute when he capitalized on Kooki’s clumsy defending meeting a loose ball in the area to shoot in the top left corner.

Kooki later found an equalizer through Anthony Ssekidde Masikirano’s well struck penalty in the second stanza following a handball by defender Latif Biira in the area.

In the 70th minute, goalkeeper Isaac Onyango Kwizera miscalculated Emayu’s 20-yard stunner on the near post as Kyadondo restored their lead.

“After losing the opening match to Bugerere, we went back to the drawing board and planned ahead of this game so the players also worked hard and I’m happy that we’ve won,” Kyadondo Ssaza gaffer Joachim Mukungu stated.

Having lost their opening game to Bugerere, Kyadondo (3 points) edged closer to qualifying for the quarter finals prior to their final group game against Mawokota on Monday, 11th January 2021.


“We conceded goals which would have been easily avoided. It is sad that we have now lost two matches and chances of progressing have reduced,” Kooki Ssaza head coach Sadiq Sempigi admitted.

After match day two, winless Kooki will be looking forward to registering their only win against Mawokota as the group stage matches wind up on Monday.

Team Line Ups:


Aristoti Muyindo (G.K), James Mubezi, Herbert Abima, Jimmy Kiwanuka, Yuda Tadeo Dumba, Salim Kyobe, Ali Mukiibi, Innocent Atiku, Eric Wadribo, Peter Kaivin Emayu, Andrew Otim

Substitutes: Hamza Lutaya, Tonny Kyagaba, Henry Wamala, Borris Onegi, Shion Badru Kayiza


Isaac Onyango Kwizera (G.K), Fred Ategeka, David Okecho, Gordon Wante, Latif Biira, Stephen Matovu, Benjamin Ssemango, Solomon Waiswa, Shamir Kimwero, Clinton Asiimwe, Anthony Ssekidde Masikirano

Substitutes: Erisa Ssentongo (G.K), Sande Matovu, David Kanonya, Jacobs Othieno, Geofrey Okello

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker