Makerere Lecturers Threaten Strike over Return of University Council Top Officials

The Academic Staff Association of Makerere University has warned of serious consequences should three individuals who have served for more than eight years on the institution’s council are returned to their positions.

“We are aware that there are ongoing clandestine movements to bring back to the incoming council the following people who have not only overstayed on the Council but have also tainted the image of the University,” reads a strong-worded letter by MUASA Chairperson, Denis Muhwezi addressed to the Secretary of the Council.

The targeted individuals are Eng Wana-Etyem, Bruce Balaba Kabaasa and Hon Thomas Tayebwa.

MUASA claims the General Assembly sitting on August 3, 2018 and adjourned to August 10, 2018 passed a vote of no confidence in the previous council and also resolved that members who have served on Council for a period of eight years should not be returned to the new university Council.

Muhwezi said this was communicated to the Minister of Education and Sports, Ms Janet Museveni.

He further said MUASA was happy that government “has listened to the plea” of their General Assembly and appointed new government representatives to the incoming council.

“We would like to warn that should the aforementioned persons be smuggled back to council through the ‘public window’, MUASA will have no option but to lay down tools until the persons are removed from the Council,” threatened Muhwezi in his letter dated December 19 to the

The University Council is the supreme governing body of the university that formulates policies on behalf of government that guide the management of the university to oversee their implementation.


It is composed of the Chairperson of the Council; Vice-Chairperson; Vice-Chancellor of the University; Deputy Vice-Chancellors; representative from the Ministry of Education and Sports; representative from the Ministry of Finance; representative from the Ministry of Labour, Gender and Social Development; two members appointed by the government; two members appointed by the University Council; District Council Representative; and two Academic Staff representatives.

Others are: Senate representative; Senate staff representative; Administrative staff representative; representative of the Support staff; two students’ representatives; representative of the Convocation; and two representatives of the persons with disabilities.

ChimpReports was unable to immediately establish if the targeted officials are interested in returning to the University Council.

The current University Council’s four-year tenure will expire in December and the process has been underway to constitute a new one.

MUASA said the Rwendeire committee report “clearly states that members who have overstayed on council and are partly responsible for the bad governance of Makerere.”

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker