latest newsNewsSliderSport>Soccer

Madondo, Ayieko Part of Tooro United Travelling Contingent to Vietnam


Uganda Premier League side Tooro United FC will on Tuesday morning travel to Vietnam to take part in the Binh Durong Television Cup (BTV Cup).

Despite the league still going on, the team got clearance from FUFA to go and take part in the annual international friendly cup.

Tooro United whose next league game comes on 28th December 2018 opted to use the period between then and now to go and participate in the annual tournament.

Surprisingly, the list of players travelling to Vietnam includes some from other teams including Kirinya Jinja SS striker Joel Madondo.

The lethal striker who has been in fine form for the Jinja based side scoring eight goals so far this season will be joined by his head coach at club, Charles ‘Mbuzi’ Ayiekoh.

Ayiekoh who previously coached Tooro United will travel with the team as assistant technical.

The other players that don’t play with Tooro United but are part of the team travelling include Abel Michael Eturude( Onduparaka FC), Yaffessi Mubiru,Mustafa Mujjuzi(Proline FC) George Ssenkaba(Kitara FC) and Faisal Ssenkyazi.


The BTV Cup or Bình Dương Television Cup is an international friendly cup held annually at Gò Đậu Stadium, home stadium of Vietnamese football club Becamex Bình Dương. Participating teams are mostly football clubs but there were some national youth sides in the past.

Tooro United will be the fourth Uganda club to take part in this tournament following KCCA FC (2009), Express FC (2010) and SC Villa(2011).

Many players have been sold under this arrangement with Noah Ssemakula, Moses Oloya and Edrisa Kaaye among others.

Travelling Contingent
Meddie Kibirige,Timothy Musinguzi,Joel Madondo,Kigozi Frederick Nicholas, Issa Lumu,Mustafa Mujjuzi, Musa Mukasa,Mahad Yaya Kakooza,Steven Luswata,Faizo Babalanda,Simon Sserunkuma,Godfrey Lwesibawa,Simon Peter Sserunkuma,Yafessi Mubiru,George Ssenkaba,Baker Buyala,Matovu Jim Martin,Abel Michael Eturude,Faisal Ssekyanzi, Eddie Ruhweza

Darius Kitibwa Mugoye- Leader of delegation
Ayiekoh Charles- Technical Assistant
Eric Ndifuna- Head coach
Aloysius Makubuya- Team Doctor
Moses Tusiime- CEO/Manager
Susan Nakanjako- Media Officer

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker