NewsSport>Motor sportSport>Rally

Lwakataka Reigns In Masaka Rally

Possiano Lwakataka returned to what is best known for (speed) as he finished winner in the Southern Motor Club(SMC) Masaka rally.

Lwakataka put up a great performance on Sunday to claim his first victory of the season and the first event win since 2016.

Popularly known as Mafu Mafu, the speed merchant navigated by Samuel Mugisha in Subaru N8 registered his first points this year clocking one hour, 23 minutes and 13 seconds.

With the National Rally Championship returning to Masaka for the first time in two years, enthusiastic fans thronged the roads to witness the third event on the calendar.

Their thirst was fully quenched first with a super special stage at the newly constructed double circuit track in Kako on Saturday.

Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya won the stage with Ronald Ssebuguzi and Christakis Fitidis coming second and third respectively.

However, the two rounds initially planned did not take place with only one round (2.8km)covered a decision that left many drivers complaining.

Day two had five competitive sections running through districts of Kyotera, Masaka and Bukomansimbi covering a competitive distance of 159.7 kilometers.


The crew of Duncan Mubiru and Musa Nsubuga came second coming a minute and 43 seconds after Lwakataka while Unissan Bakunda with his navigator Umar Kakande finished third to complete the podium slots.

This was Lwakataka’s first event win since 2016

However there were several drop outs registered with the biggest being Jas Mangat who stopped in the first second on Sunday.

Geoffrey Ssozi was one of the drivers that dropped out(Courtesy Photo)

Hassan Alwi too was a casualty dropping off with one round to the end of the rally after suffering engine failure.

The Two-Wheel Drive category was won by Edwin Kalule a result which meant he maintained his lead on championship now with 52 points . Timothy Gawaye finished second followed by Didas Matsiko.

Despite falling out, Mangat still leads the constructors championship with 200 points after three events.

Southern Motor Club(SMC) Masaka Rally Top 10

1. Ponsiano Lwakataka/Samuel Mugisha 1:23:13

2. Duncan Mubiru/Musa Nsubuga 1:24:56

3. Unissan Bakunda/Umar Kakande 1:25:46

4. Ronald Sebuguzi/Leon Ssenyange 1:26:51

5. Susan Muwonge/Edmond Kyeyune 1:28:466. Fred Wampamba/Paul Musaazi 1:29:51
7. Fred Kitaaka/Mildred Kibuuka 1:35:36
8. Omar Mayanja/Hussein Mukuye 1:36:44
9. Musa Kabega/Rogers Sirwomu 1:37:11
10. Ashiraf Ahmed/Edward Kiyingi 1:37:58

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker