Lutalo Names Final Squad for U-17 AFCON Qualifiers

Uganda Cubs National football team head coach Hamuza Lutalo named the final 20-man squad for the U17 AFCON/CECAFA Zonal Qualifiers due to take place in Rwanda.

The travelled squad of three goalkeepers, six defenders, five midfielders, six strikers, and ten officials left the country on Monday evening (10pm) ahead of CECAFA Zonal tournament.

KCCA Soccer Academy forward Shafik Magogo, who is also a son to FUFA president Eng Moses Magogo is among the players who made the final squad after a series of training sessions at FUFA Technical Center, Njeru.

Other notable players include skipper Ibrahim Juma (KCCA SA), Trevis Mutyaba (Vipers Sports Club Junior Team), Oscar Mawa (KCCA SA), and Basil Tenywa Tuma who features for Eton College in the United Kingdom.

The U17 AFCON/ CECAFA Zonal tournament is slated to commence on Saturday 12th to Tuesday 22nd December 2020.

Uganda is the reigning champion of the CECAFA U-17 championship and will be aiming at defending their crown and qualify for the African Cup of Nations U17 Finals that will take place in Morocco next year.

Uganda was placed in group A alongside Ethiopia, Kenya and South Sudan with all the group games scheduled to be hosted at Huye stadium.

Uganda’s traveling contingent to Rwanda



Mwebe Henry (Express FC Junior Team), Magada Abdu, (Busoga United Junior Team), Oyirwoth Humphrey (Express Fc Junior Team)


Mulema Vincent Defender (Kyetume FC Junior Team), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA SA), Luyima Enock (Volf SA), Mukisa Simon (KCCA SA)
Gava Peter (Express FC Junior Team), Madoi Ronald (Wakiso Giants Junior Team)


Irinimbabazi Ivan (Bright Stars FC, Junior Team), Kaliisa Shugai (Express FC Junior Team), Mutyaba Travis (Vipers SC Junior Team), Mwanje Elvis Eddy (KCCA SA), Mudiba Samir (Express FC Junior Team)


Magogo Shafiq (KCCA SA), Mubiru Hassan (Express Fc Junior Team), Mawa Oscar (KCCA SA), Bugembe Issa (Bright Stars Junior Team), Jumbe Fahad (SC Vipers Junior Team), Basil Tenywa Tuma (Eton College, United Kingdom)

Team Officials

• Magoola Issa-Leader of Delegation
• Lutalo Hamzah – Head Coach
• Ssenyondo Brian – Assistant Coach
• Kiberu Mubarak – Goalkeeping Coach
• Kyesimira Arthur – Fitness Coach
• Kabatalindwa Mable – Team Doctor
• Mutyaba Bashir – Team Manager
• Bumpenje Frank – Kits Manager
• Mutaka Joseph – Media Officer
• Mulekeezi Reagan – 1021.1 FUFA fm (Commentary)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker