List: Top Performers at Joan Cox Memorial Tournament Awarded

The 6th edition of the Joan Cox Tournament was concluded on Sunday evening with crowning of various winners with medals and trophies.

The two day tourney has been ongoing since Saturday at Gayaza High School in Wakiso.

Sport-S triumphed in club Volleyball, Kinaawa and Trust High scooped top prizes in the Under 21 and Under 16 team categories.

Individuals were also given medals for their outstanding displays in Volleyball, Lawn and table tennis.

Speaking at the awarding ceremony, Chief Guest and also a Makerere University Lecturer Evelyn Kahiigi remarked:

“The objective of this tourney is to build team work and develop young talent.

I wantbto commend the schools that took part and also encourage them to continue with that great team spirit.”

Kahiigi thanked the Uganda Volleyball Federation for the technical support, Gayaza High School and the sponsors (Crown beverages, DMK group, powerline solutions, Sun Jelly and So sure sanitary pads) who came on board to make the event colourful and a success.



Here is a complete list of winners:




Club Awards:


Champions – Sport-S

1st Runners up – VVC

2nd Runners up – Ndejje


Best Individual Awards:


MVP – Eunice Amuron (Sport-S)


Attacker – Eunice Amuron (Sport-S)


Defender – Patricia Musibika (Sport-S)


Receiver – Varoline Anyu (Ndejje)


Setter – Jessica Kaidu (Ndejje)


Server – Kauther Kagoya


Libero – Phionah Nabimanya (Ndejje)


Blocker – Diana Achiro (KCCA)



Champions – Kinaawa High School

1st Runners up – Trust High

2nd Runners up – Namugongo



Champions – Trust High

1st runners up – Our Lady

2nd Runners up – Iganga Tigers


Table Tennis:

Team events

Winner – St Michal International

1st Runners up – Trinity college Nabbingo

2nd Runners up – Gayaza High



Winner: Irene Wotanabera (St Michael)

Runner up – Sharon Mukanyika (Trinity College Nabbingo)

Third place – Esther Nabirye (Nabisunsa)



Winner – St Michael

Runner up – Trinity College Nabbingo

Third place – Nabisunsa



Winner – Joseph Rukundo (Nabbingo)


Lawn Tennis


Winner – Rianah Zawedde (KCB)

Runner up – Mariam Nambi (Nabisunsa)

Third place – Zozianah (Gayaza)



Winner – KCB

Runner up – KCB

Third place – Gayaza


MVP – Zozianah (Gayaza)

Upcoming – Aminah Nagawa – Nabisunsa

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker