List of Student Loan Scheme Beneficiaries to Be Released Tomorrow

The Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (HESFB) has announced that it will tomorrow Tuesday December 15, 2020 release the list of the 7th cohort of successful students’ loan scheme applicants for the 2020/21 academic year.

Following the initial call for applicants on June 15, 2020 ending on July 31, 2020, the Board extended the deadline three times to cover the months of August, September and the final deadline of October 15 for degree applicants and October 31 for diploma applicants.

According to the statement issued by HESFB senior communications officer, Bob Ambrose Nuwagira, the extension of the deadline was to cater for the delayed release/ confirmation of admissions by Higher Education Institutions whose operations were affected by the outbreak COVID-19 pandemic.

“This year, 5,735 students applied for funding with 5,114 applying to be supported to study various degree programmes and 621 for diploma programmes at various Higher Education Institutions,” read the statement in part.

The Minister of State for Higher Education John Chrysestom Muyingo is expected to officiate at the function.

About Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (hesfb)

The HESFB was established in February 2014 by an Act of Parliament, HESFB Act No. 2 of 2014, with a mandate to provide loans and scholarships to Ugandan students to pursue higher education.

HESFB is mandated to provide loans and scholarships to Ugandan students who have qualified to pursue accredited courses of study or programmes in the recognised Higher Education Institutions but unable to support themselves financially.


The Board has since 2014/15 academic year awarded loans to 10,041 beneficiaries (8,616 undergraduate degree and 1,425 undergraduate diploma) to pursue 130 degree programmes and 76 undergraduate diploma courses mainly in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) programmes apart from learners with special needs who can access loans to pursue Business and Humanities programmes.

These courses are currently tenable at 20 chartered universities (9 public and 11 private) and 36 other tertiary institutions in Uganda.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker