Kitagwenda Leaders, Locals Clash Over Location Of Town Council Headquarters

A row has erupted between residents and leaders over the location of Kitagwenda Town Council in the new Kitagwenda district.

Kitagwenda town council became operational on July 1 following the operationalization of Kitagwenda district, after it was carved from Kamwenge District.

The town council comprises of Ntara and Kicwamba wards. Initially, residents of Kicwamba had thought that the headquarters of the town council would be constructed in their area and the district headquarters in Ntara.

However, they were shocked when their LC II Chairperson, Mr Robert Tumwiine informed them that the Chief Administrative Officer, Mr Eliab Begumya Ntarwete said that both the town council and district headquarters would be in Ntara Ward.

But Ms Lillian Kirabo, the female councilor for Kicwamba ward said that the headquarters will be in Kicwamba. Ntarwete declined to comment on the matter.

The residents have vowed to demonstrate if their demands to have the Town Council headquarters in Kicwamba are not met.

Kitagwenda is among the new that were districts that were created during the 9th Parliament. Those that became operational on July 1, 2018 are Nabilatuk, Bugweri, Kasanda, Kwania, Kapelebyong and Kikuube. Seven other districts of Obongi, Kazo, Rwampara, Kitagwenda, Madi-Okollo, Karenga and Lusot  became effective on July 1, 2019.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker