Key Committee Chairpersons Unveiled to Steer Presidential Budget Advisory Committee 

Chairpersons of key committees in Parliament have been appointed to the Presidential Advisory Committee on Budget (PACOB) meant to guide the formulation of the 2021/2022 financial year’s budget.

Prime Minister, Ruhakana Rugunda presided over the naming of the Committee on Tuesday at the Office of the Prime Minister building.

PACOB, to be chaired by the Committee of Education and Sports chairperson, Jacob Opolot, has only one month to do its work and report to President Yoweri Museveni by the end of November in order for Government to beat the draft national budget presentation.

Government is by law required to present the draft national budget of the following financial year to Parliament by the end of December in accordance with the Public Finance Management Act.

Opolot is going to be deputized by the former Budget Committee chairman, Tim Lwanga.

Members of the Committee include: current chairperson of Parliament Budget Committee, Amos Lugolobi (Ntenjeru North); Finance Committee chairman, Henry Musaasizi (Rubanda East); Science and Technology Committee chairman, Ssekitoleko Kafeero (Nakifuma County); National Economy Committee chairperson, Syda Bumba and Natural Resources Committee chairman, Kefa Kiwanuka (Kiboga East).

Other members of the Committee are Agriculture Committee chairperson, Janet Okorimoe of Abim district, Mbarara Municipality MP Michael Tusiime, Luwero Woman MP Lillian Nakate, Kumi County MP Charles Illukor, Buteleja Woman MP Milly Mugeni and Entebbe Municipality MP Rosemary Tusiime.

The work of the Committee is going to be guided by the National Development Plan III and President Museveni’s Hakuna Mucheszo 23 strategic guidelines.



Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker