Kenyatta Begins on Major Reshuffle in Jubilee House Leadership

President Uhuru Kenyatta yesterday at State House, Nairobi chaired a Jubilee Coalition National Assembly Parliamentary Group (PG) meeting as the Coalition’s Party Leader.

The meeting was attended by Deputy President Dr. William Ruto who is also the Jubilee Coalition’s Deputy Party Leader, Party Secretary-General Raphael Tuju, and a total of 212 Members of Parliament.

The meeting’s agenda constituted a reshuffle in the leadership of the Jubilee Coalition and as such, the President made some changes.

The Parliamentary Group meeting endorsed Hon Justin B Muturi to continue serving as the Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon Moses Cheboi to continue serving as the Deputy Speaker, Hon Adan Duale to continue serving as the Majority Leader in the National Assembly, and Hon Jimmy Angwenyi to continue serving as the Deputy Majority Leader.

The Parliamentary Group meeting, however, replaced Hon Benjamin Washiali as the Majority Whip with Hon Emmanuel Wangwe. Hon Cecily Mbarire was replaced by Hon Richard Maoka Maore as the Deputy Whip.

Further, the Party Leader appointed Hon Amos Kimunya to serve as the Secretary of the Jubilee Coalition Joint Parliamentary Group.

This meeting is said to have been dreaded by many especially those who have not followed through on, and supported President Kenyatta’s causes- the reason some are forced to quit their positions in the party.

“The purge will go on even to the committee level and all those who have blatantly refused to support the President’s agenda will face the axe. For tomorrow’s meeting, only the House leadership will be focused on,” a source within the ruling Jubilee Party revealed.



Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker