International Sportlatest newsNewsPreviewSliderSport>Soccer

Kenya Qualifies To 2019 AFCON After Sierra Leone Kicked Out

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has banned Sierra Leone from taking part in football related activities due to government interventions.

The decision leaves only three teams in group F of the 2019 AFCON qualifiers: Kenya with 7 points, Ghana (6) and Ethiopia (1) in second and third respectively.

Statement from CAF website reads: “The CAF Executive Committee at its meeting on Friday, 30 November 2018 in Accra decided on the case of Sierra Leone in the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

“Sierra Leone is disqualified from the qualifiers and all its matches are annulled.”

By the current standings, Kenya and Ghana are guaranteed of top two finish and have secured their spots to the final event with a game to spare.

Harambee Stars will face Ghana in March 2019 in their final match of the qualifiers, to determine the team that will top the group.

This will be the sixth time that the Harambee Stars will be playing at the continental event after taking part in 1972, 1988, 1990, 1992 and 2004.

Kenya joins Uganda (Cranes) as the only two countries from the CECAFA region that have sealed their place at AFCON 2019.


There are so far 14 of the needed 24 teams that have sealed their place to compete in next year’s event: Madagascar, Senegal, Morocco, Mali, Algeria, Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Mauritania, Tunisia, Egypt and Uganda.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker