Katuna Town Chairman Floors Keihwa in Kabale District NRM Primaries  

The Katuna Town Council LCIII Chairperson Nelson Nshangabasheija was on Friday night declared the Kabale District Chairperson NRM flag bearer.

Nshangabasheija garnered 45,247 votes defeating the incumbent, Patrick Besigye Keihwa who polled 21,803 votes. Keihwa is also the Western region vice Chairman Uganda Local Government Association (ULGA)

Also in the race was the Kyankwanzi district deputy RDC Denis Nzeirwe Ndyomugyenyi who got 2,671 votes.

Nshangabasheija was declared the winner of the race at 11:10 pm last night by the Kabale District NRM Registrar Maurice Mugenga Keitaba at the Rukiiko hall.

Speaking to supporters that had gathered for the tallying, Nshangabasheija called for unity, togetherness and support from all his opponent’s camps.

He also emphasised the need for calmness and harmony among all the voters in the district for the development of Kabale District.

Meanwhile Andrewson Katebire the Rukungiri LCV chairperson also lost the flag to Geoffrey Kyomukama.

Katebire however, has since rejected the results and vowed to contest as an independent candidate in the general elections.


In Kisoro district, Abel Bizimana retained the seat with 43,839 votes after defeating Milton Bazanye Mutabazi who got 30,383 votes.

In Kanungu District the incumbent LC 5 Chairperson Josphine Kasya did not contest and the seat was taken by Zepher Mugisha the incumbent LC 3 chairman for Kihihi Town Council who got 30,060 votes while his closest challenger Sam Arinaitwe Kajoojo got 26,080 votes.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker