Justice Murangira, Several Judges Moved in New Changes

The new Principal Judge Flavian Zaija has started work with new changes; transferring several judges to new stations, and reversing an earlier transfer of some others.

According to circular number 1 of 2020 dated 23rd January, 2020 these changes take immediate effect.

“Following the recent transfers, a number of petitions were received from individual judges requesting for due reconsideration. The petitions were considered following due process.” reads part of the circular

Among the judges that have been moved is Justice Joseph Murangira who was in the news last year for alleged mishandling of a land eviction case from Mubende.

Murangira has been transferred from Mubende and posted at the Family division of High court.

Justice Musa Sekana who has been handling case against the appointment of Justice Simon Byabakama as head of the Electoral Commission, had his recent transfer to the Mbarara High Court circuit reversed, and now he is back at the Civil Division of High court.

Justice Olive Kazaarwe has been transferred from Family Division to Land Division, while David Matovu who has been at Fort Portal High court has been assigned to Head Family Division of High court

Justice Dr Winfred Nabisinde has been transferred from Mpigi circuit to Criminal Division; Justice Yasin Nyanzi has been moved from Criminal division to Land division


Justice Tadeo Asiimwe was moved from Mbale Circuit to Baillif and Execution division; Godfrey Namundi from Family Division to Mbale as a resident judge and Isaac Muwata has been moved from Gulu High court to Mubende High court.

Others affected include Justice Margaret Tibulya whose earlier transfer has been reversed and returned to Anti-corruption High court and Patricia Basaza Waswa has been transferred from Execution and Bailiff to Mukono High court.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker