Justice Kabito Replaces Ogoola as Judicial Service Commission Boss

President Museveni has named Fort Portal High Court Justice Benjamin Kabito Isingoma as the head of the Judicial Service Commission (JSC), replacing Justice James Ogoola who recently turned 70.

Kabito will be deputized by Supreme Court judge and former Inspector General of Government, Faith Mwondha.

The JSC is a Constitutional body established under Article 146 of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, 1995.

The Commission is composed of 9 members with powers to facilitate improving the efficiency and effectiveness of Justice Administration in Uganda.

The Commissioners are drawn from persons of integrity and unquestionable character.

The Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, and the Members are all appointed by the President with approval of Parliament

A full time Chairperson and Deputy must be qualified to be appointed as a Justices of the Supreme Court.

The commission also comprises six members (part time) whose respective nomination is directly linked to specified stakeholder institutions such as the Public Service Commission, the Uganda Law Society, the Judiciary, the public (excluding lawyers).


Former Uganda Law Society boss, Ruth Sebatindira and women rights activist, Norah Matovu Winyi, will also serve as members of the commission.

Others are MPs Rose Nyakikongoro and Hon Amongin Aporu; Justine Mugabi and Laban Nnini Kirya.

Signing for the Parliament Clerk, Paul Wabwire has since issued a notice to the appointments committee to meet next Wednesday to vet the nominees.

The Attorney General serves on the commission as an ex-officio Member of the Commission.

The Secretary to the Judicial Service Commission is also appointed by the President under Article 146 (8) of the Constitution.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker