I’m Humbled: Besigye Keihwa Concedes Defeat in Kabale NRM Primaries

The Kabale district chairperson Mr Patrick Besigye Keihwa has conceded defeat in the just concluded NRM primaries.

Keihwa, the Vice President of Uganda Local Government Association (ULGA) has been the Kabale LC5 chairman since 2011.

He came last with 21,803 votes in an election that was won by Nelson Nsahangabasheija, the Katuna Town Council LCIII chairperson who polled 45,247, while Denis Nzeirwe came second with 22671votes.

In his concession, Keihwa said he was “humbled” by the voters’ decision.

“I salute the people of Kabale for the opportunity that they gave him to serve them for the last 10 years. I respect the will of the people and congratulate my brother and wish him well in the forthcoming elections,” he said.

Keihwa, who still has 8 months in office as LC5 Chairman and 2 years as the chairperson of United Cities and Local Governments of Africa, asked for cooperation and guidance from the people as he prepares to handover.

Meanwhile Denis Nzeirwe, the runner-up in the election vowed to stand as an independent candidate in the general elections.

Nzeirwe says the NRM has been “infiltrated by self-seeking politicians who are all about fulfilling their interests but are not ready to work for it”.



Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker