Humiliated Mbale District Boss Returns as Independent, as Galiwango, Wanyoto Face Off Again

The Mbale District chairman Bernard Elly Mujasi, who was humiliated in the recently concluded NRM Primaries has been nominated as an independent candidate, to contest on the position of Bungokho South Member of Parliament.

Mujasi was defeated by Robert Wandwasi, who scored 17,073 votes against his 17 votes.

He was among the 24 candidates who were nominated to contest for different Parliamentary positions in Mbale City, according to Charles Rebero, the City Returning Officer.

“The exercise did not face much challenges and only two candidates failed to turn up and these are; Isma Mafabi and Mugamba Shahali, who were both vying for Northern City MP. Shahali did not come with his academic documents and the pay slip of Shs3m nomination fees,” he said.

The Mbale City Woman MP Seat attracted six candidates; Lydia Wanyoto from NRM, Maimuna Nambuya (FDC), Robinah Masibo (NUP), Shadia Luwungule and the incumbent Connie Nakayenze Galiwango on independent tickets.

In Northern Division, five candidates were successfully nominated and these are; Paul Wanyoto (FDC), Ivan Masaba (NUP), Wandera Muhammad (ANT) and Seth Wambede (NRM).

Others are; Alhajji Umar Nangoli, the former RDC of Mbale District, the incumbent MP of Bungokho North, Sizomu Gershom Wambede and Imaan Magala, all on independent tickets.

Gospel artist Micheal Musalo (Indep), NRM’s John Wekesa Wamboga, and Isaac Nabende from FDC were among the eight candidates, who were nominated for the Industrial Division.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker