International Sportlatest newsNewsSport>Soccer

Dennis Onyango Propells Mamelodi Sundowns To Eighth South Africa Premier League Title

Uganda’s shot stopper Dennis Masinde Onyango has won his third South Africa Premier league title with Mamelodi Sundowns.

This achievement comes after Onyango helped the Sundowns to their 2017-2018 league crown on Saturday, the eighth for the club overall.

Three titles with Mamelodi

The Masandawana defeated Ajax Cape Town 3-1 at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday to go seven points adrift of second placed Orlando Pirates with a game to spare.

Khama Billiat, Ricardo Nascimento and Sibusiso Vilakazi were on target as the Pretoria based club clinched their record eighth title.

Despite having an average season, highlighted by a recent howler against Maritzburg, Onyango has kept 11 clean sheets in the league.


The former SC Villa player was also part of SuperSport United’s squad that won the league on three occasions (2007 up to 2009).

He had earlier helped the Brazillians with league triumphs in 2013/14 and 2015/16.

Onyango turning up for Uganda Cranes

It should be remembered that Onyango was in 2016 ranked in position number 10 in the world (best goalkeepers), ahead of Petr Cech and Ter Stegen by International Federation of football history and statistics.

PSL title winners:
1996/97 – Manning Rangers
1997/98 – Mamelodi Sundowns
1998/99 – Mamelodi Sundowns
1999/00 – Mamelodi Sundowns
2000/01 – Orlando Pirates
2001/02 – Santos
2002/03 – Orlando Pirates
2003/04 – Kaizer Chiefs
2004/05 – Kaizer Chiefs
2005/06 – Mamelodi Sundowns
2006/07 – Mamelodi Sundowns
2007/08 – SuperSport United
2008/09 – SuperSport United
2009/10 – SuperSport United
2010/11 – Orlando Pirates
2011/12 – Orlando Pirates
2012/13 – Kaizer Chiefs
2013/14 – Mamelodi Sundowns
2014/15 – Kaizer Chiefs
2015/16 – Mamelodi Sundowns
2016/17 – Bidvest Wits
2017/18 – Mamelodi Sundowns

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker