Hima Cement Heathens Declared 2019/20 Rugby Premier League Champions

The Uganda Rugby Union has declared Hima Cement Heathens as the 2019/2020 Nile Special Stout Rugby Premier League champions.

The decision to declare Heathens was reached at after a successful Executive committee meeting that was held on 30th September, 2020.

In the meeting, the EXCO members agreed to end the 2019/2020 season prematurely following the strict conditions set up by the government regarding sports resumption in the country.

Before the Sports activities were put at a halt (on 18th of March), all teams had played the same number of games (13/18) which contribute 50% hence log leaders Hima Cement Heathens were in pole position to win the title by forfeiture.

Heathens were top by the time the league was suspended due to the pandemic

The Rugby Union also resolved that there will be no promotion or relegation from the Rugby Premier League as the championship knockout stages had not yet been played.

The Union also targets 23rd January, 2021 as the resumption date for rugby and intends to utilize the time before then to engage all the stakeholders to find a sustainable approach to meet the SOPs.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker