Heathens Squeeze Past Resilient Pirates To Lift 2016 Uganda Cup


Uganda cup finals

Hima Cement Heathens 20-17 Buzz Pirates

After losing the league title and the Rugby 7s title to bitter rivals Betway Kobs, ask the only silverware that was left for the Heathens this year was the Uganda cup.

Hima Cement Heathens had to go past a rejuvenated Buzz Pirates in the finals to clinch the title.

In an epic game played at the Legends Rugby Club on Saturday, buy more about Heathens defeated Pirates 20-17 to win a record 11th Uganda cup title.

Phillip Wokorach gave Heathens the lead with the first try of the game but Conrad Wanyama scored a penalty to draw the score at 05-03.

Wokorach was at it again, crossing the white line for his second try of the day to give Heathens a 10-03 lead at half time.


The second period produced end-to-end action and Pirates returned a recharged side with Timothy Kisaga making a second try for the side before Byron Kasozi added another.

A conversion from Ivan Magomu meant Pirates took the lead in the game for the first time leading at 17-15.

It was Michael Wokorach who provided the winning moment for the record champions, making a try towards the climax of the game and heathens won 20-17.

The result meant Heathens took their Uganda cup tally to 11, winning in the previous four years.

On Friday Betway Kobs defeated Toyota Buffaloes 18-12 to claim the third spot.

In the shield cup final, Rams defeated Gulu elephants 08-03.

Past winners

1999 – Heathens

2000 -Heathens

2001 -Heathens

2002 – Heathens

2003 – Heathens

2004 -Heathens

2005 -Kobs

2006 -Kobs

2007 – Pirates

2008 -Kobs

2009 -Heathens

2010 -Kobs

2011 -Kobs

2012 -Kobs

2013 – Heathens

2014 -Heathens

2015 -Heathens

2016 – Heathens

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker