FUFA Reforms See Only 12 Clubs Compete in 2021/22 Season

In a bid to professionalize the game in the Country, the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) has proposed new reforms.

These reforms were communicated during the 22nd FUFA Exco meeting held on 13th March, 2020 at the Executive House-FUFA Complex in Mengo.

The 2020/2021 season will act as a transitional period with reforms scheduled to take effect in the following 2021-2022 campaign.

According to FUFA, the Uganda Premier League is to consist of 12 teams starting with the 2021-2022 season which will be played in three rounds.

FUFA aims at increasing competitiveness in the league with the reduction of slots in the top league.

Six teams will be relegated at the end of the 2020/2021 season and only two shall be promoted from the FUFA Big League.

The first two rounds will be played on a home and away basis is and the team with a better aggregate after the two legs will host the third round as the case is in the FUFA Junior League and the FUFA Women Super League.

The FUFA Competitions Department will however determine the fate for the host of the third round when and if both teams tie on aggregate after the first two rounds.


Every top flight club shall be compelled to have an U20 team to compete in the maiden reserve league.

A player with a first division license may play in the reserve league and player with a reserve league license may play in the first division league.

The First Division, Second Division and the UPL U20 Reserve Leagues are to be under the Professional League Board and Professional League Secretariat replacing the current UPL Board and UPL Secretariat.

There shall be an established FUFA Juniors’ Leagues in each of the eight FUFA regions in the country under the supervision of the UYFA and the respective Football Regional Associations.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker