FUFA Awards 2019: Okello, Nalukenge Emerged Best In Uganda

KCCA FC forward Allan Okello and Kawempe Muslim Women Football Club star Juliet Nalukenge were crowned as the best Airtel Male and Female respectively most valuable players of the year, 2019 during a glamorous awards night held at the Speke Resort Munyonyo on Saturday evening.

Both players were rewarded by Shs 1M, trophy, medal and drove home with a brand new car each.

To win this accolade, Okello beat teammate Mustafa Kizza and Proline’s Bright Anukani.

He had an outstanding performance during the year that witnessed his club win the 13th StarTimes Uganda Premier League title.

He was also part of the Uganda Cranes team that qualified for the 2020 CHAN finals in Cameroon, scoring crucial goals and making odd assists.

For Nalukenge, she was the top scorer at the 2019 COSAFA U-17 championship in Mauritius, also guiding Uganda to the trophy in the aforementioned tournament.

She was also the top scorer at the 2019 CECAFA Women Senior Challenge Cup in Tanzania where Uganda finished third for the second successive year.

Meanwhile, Uganda U-20 captain and SC Villa defender Gavin Kizito Mugeri was the best Airtel – FUFA Upcoming Talent of the Year.


The FUFA Presidential Award went to former Uganda Cranes captain Magid Musisi (Rest in Peace).

All Winners:

Airtel Male Footballer of the Year:  Allan Okello

Airtel Female Footballer of the Year: Juliet Nalukenge

Airtel – FUFA Fans Team of the year: Acholi Province

Airtel – FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year: Sulaiman Ochero

Airtel – FUFA Member Association of the Year: Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA)

Airtel – FUFA Fans Favourite Foreign based player of the Year:  Abdul Lumala

Airtel – FUFA Upcoming Talent of the Year: Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa & Uganda U-20)

Airtel – FUFA Best Squad (Team): Team of 1978

Airtel – FUFA Fair Play Award: Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) Football Club

Airtel – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year: Ayub Khalifa

Airtel – FUFA Male Football Coach of the Year: Shafiq Bisaso (Former Proline Head Coach)

Airtel – Male Best XI: Joel Mutakubwa (GK), Paul Willa, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita, Halid Lwaliwa, Allan Kayiwa, Allan Okello, Shafiq Kagimu, Viane Ssekajugo, Mike Mutyaba, Bright Anukani

Airtel – Female Bext XI: Daisy Nakazkiro (GK), Florence Naziz, Shadia Nankya, Marion Amangat, Viola Namuddu, Rita Nabbosa, Phiona Nabbumba, Fauzia Najjemba, Mauren Kinavudori, Juliet Nalukenge, Nassuna Hasifa



Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker