Four In, Four Out as McKinstry Names Final Squad for CHAN

Uganda Cranes Head Coach Jonathan McKinstry has named the final squad that will take part in the 2021 African Nations Championship (CHAN) tournament scheduled for 16th January – 7th February 2021.

The squad of 25 has four goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders, and seven strikers.

The final roster includes four KCCA FC players in goalkeeper Charles Lukwago, defender Dennis Iguma, midfielder Bright Anukani and forward Brian Aheebwa.

The four latest additions were part of KCCA FC team that bowed out of the CAF Confederation Cup last evening and will join the rest of the players in Cameroon currently taking part in the pre-CHAN mini tournament.

They replace the four players that will board the plane back to Kampala in Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants), forward Steven Mukwala (URA FC), inform striker Joseph Semujju (BUL FC), and defender Ashraf Mandela (URA FC).

The Northern Irishman has also confirmed Vipers Sports Club defender Halid Lwaliwa as the cranes captain for the entire tournament.

The Cranes currently in Yaounde, will play Niger on Thursday in the final game of the Pre-CHAN Mini tournament before travelling to Douala on Friday, where they will hold a one week training camp ahead of their group stage matches.

The Cranes drew 1-1 with hosts Cameroon in the opening pre-CHAN Tournament before they saw off Zambia 2-0 in the second game on Monday this week.


Uganda was placed in group C of the African Nations Championship (CHAN) tournament alongside Togo, Morocco, and Rwanda. All the group C games will be played at Stade de la Réunification in Douala.

The Final squad

Goalkeepers: Lukwago Charles (KCCA), Mutakubwa Joel (Kyetume), Alionzi Legason Nafian (URA), Ikara Tom (Police)

Defenders: Hassan Muhamud (Police FC), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC), Mujuzi Musitafa (Kyetume FC), Ssenjobe Eric (Police FC), Iguma Denis (KCCA FC), Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC), Mbowa Paul Patrick (URA FC)

Midfielders: Mawejje Tonny (Police FC), Kagimu Shafik Kuchi (URA FC), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC), Kyeyune Saidi (URA FC), Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Watambala Abdu Karim (Vipers SC)

Forwards: Ojera Joackiam (URA FC), Brian Aheebwa (KCCA FC), Ocen Ben (Police FC), Ssekajugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Orit Ibrahim (Vipers SC), Jagason Muhammad Shaban (Vipers SC), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC)

Uganda Cranes 2021 AFCON Group C Fixtures

• Rwanda Vs Uganda Cranes – 18th January

• Uganda Cranes Vs Togo – 22nd January

• Uganda Cranes Vs Morocco – 26th January

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker