FDC’s Muzanira Elected Rukungiri Woman MP

Opposition Forum for Democratic Change’s Betty Muzanira was Friday morning declared winner of the Rukungiri Woman Member of Parliament by-election.

Muzanira was announced winner of the hotly contested race by the Rukungiri district returning officer Umaru Kiyimba at the district council hall at 5.15 am.

She polled 50,611 votes, beating her biggest rival, the National Resistance Movement’s Winfred Komuhangi Matsiko who managed only 46,329.

Independent candidate Prisca Mbaguta polled 993 votes while People’s Progress Party’s Fabith Kukundakwe trailed with 183.

The final results were announced amidst dancing and ululations by FDC supporters who waited through the long night at the hall.

The Rukungiri Woman MP seat fell vacant after Court of Appeal nullified   Matsiko’s election following a petition by Muzanira.

Earlier in the day, the FDC and NRM camps accused each other of vote rigging and inciting of violence amongst the voters , which led to the arrest and detention of 15 people  that included former Rwampara MP Vincent  Mujuni Kyamadidi and Athanasius Rutaro who is the  former  Rukungiri LC5 Chairperson.

The Rukungiri Woman MP seat fell vacant after Court of Appeal nullified Matsiko’s election on 12th April 2018   following a petition by   Muzanira.


The by election had attracted political heavyweights from both camps, with NRM chairman President Yoweri Museveni campaigning for Winfred Matsiko.

Former FDC president Dr Kizza Besigye together with the entire party top leadership, as well as popular musician and MP Robert Kyagulanyi also pitched camp in Rukungiri, days leading up to the election

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker