FDC Chief Mobilizer Ingrid Turinawe Nominated as Independent

Forum for Democratic Change Secretary for Mobilization Mrs Ingrid Turinawe Kamateneti who lost out in the party MP Primaries for Rukungiri Municipality, was yesterday nominated for the same race on the Independent ticket.

Turinawe had earlier vowed not to give up after losing the primaries to Dr Wallen Nuwagaba Tumwine, saying the primaries were neither free nor fair.

She was among the 22 candidates that were nominated by the Electoral Commission for parliamentary positions in the 4 constituencies of Rukungiri district.

Of the 22, four belong to the ruling National Resistance movement NRM, four from the opposition Forum for Democratic Change FDC, One from the Alliance National Transformation ANT and 13 are contesting independently.

Others that were nominated as independents include Apollo Kabano, George Owakukiroru Tumwesigye, Mbabazi Arthur, Amanya Tumukunde Nduhuura, Komujuni Jovita and Osbert Muriisa who are all eyeing the Municipality parliamentary seat as independents in addition to NRM’s Rutahigwa Elisa.

Mary Paula Turyahikayo the Rubabo county NRM flag bearer is facing FDC’s Naboth Namanya Kaburahona, Tushabomwe David Ndindirize, Rwabatongoore Rweishe Wilber and Peggy Natukunda Mafigyiri all independents.

NRM’S Maj. Jim Katugugu Muhwezi, is taking on the incumbent and FDC’s flag bearer Fred Tumuheirwe Turyamuhweza, Sylvin Gumisiriza of Alliance for National Transformation and Independent Muhoozi Grace Mugasha for Rujumbura county parliamentary seat.

The race for Rukungiri District Woman Parliamentary seat will be between the incumbent FDC’s Betty Muzanira against NRM’s Medius Kaharata Natukunda, Innocent Kashobera and Joslyne Winnie Babihuga as independent candidates.


According to Abbas Namara the Rukungiri District Returning Officer, the exercise that started at 9 a.m. on Thursday and ended on Friday evening was very successful.

Abbas however asked those that were nominated on different seats to suspend their campaigns and meetings until the commission issues proper guidelines on how they will transverse looking for votes in their respective constituencies

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker