FDC ‘Backed Independent to Trounce Museveni Candidate’ in Igara East MP Poll

Michael Mawanda, an independent candidate, was Thursday night declared Igara East MP after collecting 16,209 votes.

The race had six candidates.

Mawanda was followed by NRM’s Andrew Martial, who polled 12,991 votes.

The two were then followed by Benjamin Katana with 1,477 votes, Forum for Democratic Change’s Christine Ninsiima Bekunika who got 497 votes and Bedads Kananura and David Armstrong, both independent candidates with 480 and 76 votes respectively.

According to former FDC president Dr Kizza Besigye, the results from the election were after a calculated move by Igara East constituents to defeat the NRM candidate who was supported by President Yoweri Museveni.

In a Twitter message posted on Friday Besigye said, “Our people in Igara East decided to make an alliance with an Independent MP Candidate.”

He added: “Many of our leaders &I didn’t support this but it was people’s choice based on fear of M7 money &rigging. Anyhow, Mr M7’s candidates were trounced! Thanks Igara #TOGIKWATAKO”

The by-election which cost government about Shs390 million came after Court of Appeal in October 2017 nullified the election of Mr Martial as MP citing voter bribery and uttering of defamatory statements in the 2016 general election.





Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker