EXCLUSIVE: Parliamentary Commissioners Election Report Fails to get Required Signatures

The parliamentary backbench commissioners’ election report by the committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline has failed to register the required signatures and initials of Members of Parliament.

ChimpReports learnt that the report, which was supposed to be presented on the floor on Thursday January 24, 2019, failed to appear on the Order Paper (business order of the day) because it had only the signatures of 7 committee members.

“Many committee members (MPs) are out of town. The report needs 3 more signatures to comply with the Rules,” said a source.

According to the Rules of Procedures of Parliament 201 (1), a committee report should have at least one third of the signatures and initials of the maximum 30 members.

Members of the Rules, Discipline and Privileges committee camped at Golf View Hotel, Entebbe for two days from January 7th to January 8th 2019 to decide on the matter, which has left Parliament in administration dilemma since the Commission has no quorum.

The Entebbe retreat followed a unilateral declaration by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga on December 18th 2018, that backbench Commissioners should be elected by Members of Parliament.

“I have studied the provisions of the Constitution, the Administration of Parliament Act and our Rules of Procedures and I have found out that section 2(2) of the Administration of Parliament Act is clear that there is supposed to be a nomination of members for election of the four members of the Commission,” said Kadaga.

Kadaga also directed the committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline to study and come up with a report in reflection to the new interpretation.


The Entebbe retreat agreed with Kadaga that the rules on the designation of backbench commissioners has been misconstrued and wrongly implemented for the last 12 years since 2006.

The final report, possibly edited and printed from Kampala, needs to be signed and initialed by at least 10 members.

Members of the committee include: Hon Ongalo-Obote Clement Kenneth of Kilaki County (Chairman), Agaba Abbas Mugisha of Kitagwenda County (Vice Chairman), Acidri James Maracha East, Akampulira Prossy Mbabazi    Rubanda District, Akello Rose Lilly Kaabong District, Bitangaro Sam Kwizera Bufumbira South, Biyika Lawrence Songa       Ora County and Buturo James Nsaba Bufumbira East.

Others are Kabaziguruka Michael Andrew of Nakawa Division, Kafeero Ssekitoleko Robert Nakifuma County, Kuteesa Pecos Onesmus (Maj. Gen.) UPDF, Katusabe Godfrey Atkins Bukonjo West, Mugoya Kyawa Gaster Bukooli North, Mwiru Paul Jinja Municipality East, Nabbanja Robinah Kakumiro District, Nandala Mafabi Nathan Budadiri West, Niwagaba Wilfred Ndorwa East and Oboth Jacob Marksons West Budama South Hon Ogenga-Latigo Morris (Prof.)          Agago North Hon Okabe Patrick            Serere County  Hon Onyango Gideon             Samia Bugwe North




Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker