EXCLUSIVE: NRM CEC Reappoints Ogwang, Rwakajara to Parliament Commission

The Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the National Resistance Movement has maintained 3 of its members as Commissioners of Parliament.

The CEC meeting at State House Entebbe on Friday morning resolved to retain the 3 Commissioners; Peter Ogwang of Usuk County, Kakumiro Woman MP Robinah Nabanja and Worker Representative Arinaitwe Rwakajara.

Parliamentary Commission is the administrative organ of the national assembly established by the Constitution and the Administration of Parliament Act.

According to sources who attended the closed door meeting chaired by President Yoweri Museveni, 10 names were presented by the Leader of Government Business before CEC members.

The Museveni’s copy obtained by ChimpReports shows that the 10 names were classified according to their regions, gender and qualifications.

The names which originated from the Government Chief Whip’s office had the 3 maintained MPs as number 1, 2 and 3 on the list.

The list on the descending order had Isala Eragu Bichetero Veronica of Kaberamaido county, Denis Hamson Obua of Ajuri county, former Minister Syda Bbumba Namirembe currently representing Nakaseke North and Rubabo County MP, Paula Turyahikayo.

Others on the list included: Mitoma Woman MP, Jovah Kamateka; Alex Byarugaba of Isingiro South and Kamusiime Innocent Pentagon of Butemba County.


On the regional basis, 3 of the 10 were from central, 2 from Eastern, 1 from north and 5 from western region.

The Parliament team including the Prime Minister and the Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa reportedly told CEC that the current 3 Commissioners have performed well and rule 11 (5) of Parliamentary rules of procedure allows re-designation.

“Those from Parliament informed us that the 3 Commissioners are performers. We decided to retain them,” said a source who talked to us off record.

The motion to maintain the Commissioners was reportedly moved by the party chairman, President Museveni and members religiously adopted.

Ms. Nankabirwa is expected to make the formal announcement on the floor of Parliament confirming the 3 before Christmas break.

The backbench Commissioners, one from the opposition, serve for two and halve years subject to re-designation.

FDC irregularly named Francis Mwijukye in August this year but it was put on hold by the Speaker Rebecca Kadaga.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker