EXCLUSIVE: Eng Njuki Appointed UEGCL Board Chairperson

Eng. Proscovia Margaret Njuki has been appointed Chairperson, stomach Uganda Electricity Generation Company Limited (UEGCL) Board of Directors, shop Chimp Corps exclusively report.

This was revealed by the Minister of State for Privatization and Investment, Evelyn Anite in a letter dated November 11, 2016.

Eng Njuki now replaces Dr Stephen Robert Isabalija who was recently appointed Permanent Secretary Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development.

“We are pleased to inform you that you have been appointed the Chairperson of the Board of UECGL with effect from January 1, 2017,” Anite’s letter to Njuki reads in part.

“This will allow a smooth transition of leadership and ensure continuity of board activities with minimal interruption,” she added.

UECGL Communications boss, Simon Kasyate confirmed the development, saying it’s a step forward in the right direction.

“UEGCL management wishes to commend the shareholder (Privatization Unit-MoFPED) for the expeditious appointment of a Board chairperson to avert a lacuna when the tenure of the current chairperson Dr Isabalija expires in January 2017,” said Kasyate.

On her part, Anite expressed hope that with Njuki’s “vast experience on the UEGCL board, you will continue to drive the organisation to attain its strategic objective and continue to generate electricity for generations in line with company’s mandate.”


Njuki’s appointment comes at a time of intense pressure on technocrats to increase power supply in the country.

President Museveni believes ample and cheap electricity will boost the manufacturing sector hence creating millions of jobs and turning around the economy as the country aims for a middle income status.

UECGL’s mandate is to generate power to meet the ever growing needs of the domestic market; monitor operation and maintenance of existing plants; and oversee the efficient production of electricity power in the country.

Other responsibilities are monitoring the effects of electricity generation on the environment and engaging in research and consultancy to contribute to the development of the energy sector.

Njuki’s tenure will be three years from the date of appointment with the option for renewal.

Other members on the UECGL board include Zachary Baguma Atwooki, Jennifer Bataringaya Lubaale, Zeridah Zigiti, Nixon Kamukama and Mark Martin Obia.

“We are confident that Eng. Njuki, an astute engineer of acclaim (the first female engineer in Uganda) with her vast experience on the UEGCL Board, we shall receive the requisite guidance and support to deliver on our mandate to the nation,” said Kasyate.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker