latest newsNewsSliderSport>Soccer

Espinoza Names 18 Man Squad for Vipers SC Expedition in Sudan


Vipers Sports Club will return to continental engagement on Wednesday as they face Sudanese outfit Al Merreikh in the first leg of the preliminary round of the 2018/19 CAF Champions League.

The previous attempts have not been impressive and the task for manager Javier Martinez Espinoza will be to try and better the previous outings. Vipers SC lost to Enyimba in the CAF Champions League preliminary round in 2016 while lost at the second round to Platinum Stars in the CAF Confederation Cup last year.

The Mexican coach has on Monday named a squad of 18 players comprising of two goalkeepers, six defenders and six midfielders plus four strikers.

With Fabien Mutombora ruled out due to an injury, Bashir Ssekagya and Derrick Ochan will be the two goalkeepers that will be available for selection.

Mutombora got injured while on duty for Burundi during the CAF U23 qualifiers. Ssekagya who made his début for the venoms in their 1-0 win against Paidha Black Angels is expected to start in goal.

The six defenders include Ibrahim Kiyemba,Geoffrey Wasswa,Halid Lwaliwa,Yayo Lutimba Bashir Asiku and Livingstone Mulondo.

Taddeo Lwanga, the captain and his assistant Moses Waiswa return to the team after being rested against Paidha and duo is expected to start in midfield.


The other midfielders on the travelling contingent include Rahmat Ssenfuka,Duncan Sseninde, Brian Nkuubi and Abraham Ndugwa.

The four forwards are Dan ‘Muzeeyi’ Sserunkuma, Brian Kalumba, Noah Wafula and Tito Okello.

The team is expected to depart on Tuesday morning(3am) aboard Ethiopian Airlines and will have a stop over in Adis Ababa before connecting to Khartoum.

The game is slated for Wednesday, 27th November 2018 with the return leg at St.Mary’s stadium scheduled for 5th December 2018.

VIPER SC Travelling Squad

Bashir Ssekagya
Derrick Ochan

Ibrahim Kiyemba
Livingstone Mulondo
Geoffrey Wasswa
Bashir Asiku
Halid Lwalilwa
Yayo Lutimba

Taddeo Lwanga
Moses Waiswa
Rahmat Ssenfuka
Duncan Sseninde
Brian Nkuubi
Abraham Ndugwa

Tito Okello
Brian Kalumba
Noah Wafula
Dan Sserunkuma

Technical Team:
Javier Martinez Espinoza- Team Manager
Mubarak Wamboya – Assistant Coach
Moses Oloya- Goalkeeping Coach
Mathias Kasagga- Team Doctor

Dr.Lawrence Mulindwa- Club Patron
George William Mulindwa- Club Chairman
David Mukiidi Kalyebala- Leader of Delegation
Abdu Wasike- Head of Communications, Vipers SC

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker