EC Speaks Out On Elections In 46 New Constituencies

The Electoral Commission has said it is waiting for communication from Parliament is regard to the creation of 46 new constituencies before they can go ahead to organised elections there.

Parliament last Thursday approved the creation of 46 new counties and a new constituency -Nakawa West. This followed the recent clearance by Cabinet.

But the deputy spokesperson of the EC, Mr Paul Bukenya, said they are waiting for communication from Parliament before they issue guidelines for the said constituencies.

“The Electoral commission is awaiting the parliamentary procedures to be concluded. So we have not received notification because when parliament creates and approve. They also gazette and that is how we are officially notified. So we also await that. We are not holding unto any information but we are waiting for those processes to be concluded,” Mr Bukenya said on Tuesday.

Article 63 (1) of the Constitution empowers parliament to prescribe the number of constituencies for purposes of elections for Members of Parliament.

The approved new constituencies are Buhweju West, Buwekula South, Kiboga West, Lamwo East, Bugangaizi South, Chekwi East, West Budama Central, and Kwania North. On the same list are Buyanja East, Kagoma North, Ngariam, Agago West, Bukanga North, Bukimbiri and Nakaseke Central. These (15) were approved by Cabinet on June 15th.

The others are Kapere (Ngora district), Butiru (Manafwa), Kyoga North (Amolatar), Napero West (Karenga), Bukora East (Napak), Nwoya East (Nwoya), Namayingo South (Namayingo), Elgon North (Bulambuli), Samia Bugwe Central (Busia) and Mawogola West (Sembabule).

The list also has: Otuke East (Otuke), Ruhama East (Ntungamo), Isingiro West (Isingiro), Two county (Bukwo), Okyero (Kaberamaido), Soy (Kween), Namisindwa (Namisindwa), Gweli (Soroti), Pingire (Serere), Bukonko central (Mbale), Aringa East (Yumbe), Kyaka Central (Kyegegwa), Ruhinda South (Mitooma), Kyigai (Bududa), Gogonya (Palisa), Busiki North (Namutumba), Maruzi North (Apac), Rwampara East (Rwampara), Bugangahizi (Kikuube), West Budama North East (Tororo) and Dodoth North (Kaabong). These totaling 31 were approved by Cabinet on Monday 27th July.


Besides the new constituencies, Nakawa Division in Kampala district is also split into two constituencies.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker