EC Seeks Shs 16 Billion to Demarcate Boundaries of New Constituencies

The elections managing body, the Electoral Commission has said that it needs 16 billion shillings to demarcate boundaries of the new constituencies recently passed by Parliament.

Since the release of the electoral roadmap in 2018 and the issuance of a revised one on June 16, 2020, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Parliament has created a number of new units that include 46 new counties, 10 new cities, 1 district, 5 parliamentary seats for older persons and a prescription of 353 constituencies for the 11th Parliament.

Addressing the media at Electoral Commission headquarters in Kampala on Friday, the Commission’s chairman justice Simon Byabakama said the Commission will need 16 billion to demarcate boundaries of new units.

“When we formulated roadmap in 2018 and the budget covering the entire roadmap, these new entities we are talking about had not been dreamt about. They came in as you are aware after the roadmap had started rolling. Inevitably, they had budgetary implications. We have to go back to the field, something we had already done,” said Byabakama.

At the commencement of the implementation of the roadmap, he said the first activity was to demarcate electoral areas and reorganize polling stations.

“Because of these new creations, we have to repeat that exercise in those areas where these new entities have been established. So, that requires money. The total cost is in the range of 16 billion. You know elections are not cheap,” he said.

Government also created 168 new Town Councils and sub counties after the Electoral Commission cut off date for creation of election areas.

For purposes of demarcation of Local Government election areas to clearly define the areas of representation for directly elected councillors and women councillors, Byabakama announced the postponement of the nomination of candidates for Local Government Council elections.


“As a result, the period for nomination of candidates for Local Government Council elections has been revised from the earlier dates of 7th to 17th September 2020 to the new dates of 21st September to 1st October 2020,” said Byabakama.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker