EC Disqualifies NRM, DP Candidates From Busia Election

The Electoral Commission has Friday cancelled the nomination of the two leading candidates who were vying for the position of Busia LC5 Chairperson.

The EC Chairman Justice Simon Byabakama disqualified the candidature of Hasubi Deogratius Njoki (DP) and Paul Boniface Oguttu (NRM) from the race.

The two candidates were the only ones representing political parties in the race, and were projected as the main contenders.

They were kicked out on technical grounds according to letters from the EC chairman seen by this website.

The NRM party petitioned the EC for disqualification of the DP candidate and vice versa.

Both candidates apparently, were nominated with unrecognized names.

According to the EC boss, the DP candidate was nominated under the names Hasubi Deogratius Njoki, yet on the national voters register as well as his national ID his names are Hasubi Deogratius.

While the DP candidate claims he formally changed his names with the National Identification and Registration Authority (NIRA) and presented papers from the Authority to the EC, he didn’t do so on time.


“In view of the above, the commission resolved that the person nominated under the names Hasubi Deogratius Njoki is not a registered voter under the National Voters Register and thus over turned the Returning Officer’s decision to have you nominated for the position of Busia District Chairperson,” Mr Byabakama stated.

The NRM candidate on the other hand was thrown out of the race because his names, Oguttu Boniface Paul didn’t match the names on the requisite academic documents accompanying his nomination papers.

With the exit of both candidates, the race for the Busia district chair is left between independent candidates Chrispus Bwire, Tony Ojambo and Geoffrey Wandera.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker