EC Declares Frank Tumwebaze Unopposed for Kibaale MP

The Electoral Commission has announced Hon Frank Tumwebaze “duly elected” MP for Kibaale East County after his two rivals stepped out of the race, Chimp Corps report.

“The Commission received and considered withdrawal notices of candidature by Atuhaire George Wilson and Nuwagaba Arthur from the parliamentary race for Kibale East County constituency in Kamwenge electoral district,” said the Kamwenge returning officer George William Magezi in a letter to the Electoral Commission chairperson on November 19.

Tumwebaze joins several other Members of Parliament to be declared unopposed since the campaigns started earlier this month.

Pius Wakabi for Bugahya County, Hoima District, Hilary Lokwang of Ik County in Kaabong District and Enock Nyongore for Nakaseke North, Nakaseke District.

Others are Emely Kugonza of Buyanja East, Kibaale District, Lillian Papalu Obiale for Woman MP Arua District as well as Gyavira Ssemwanga of Buyamba County, Rakai District and Anita Amongi (Bukedea).

Returning officer, Magezi said Atuhaire quit the race on October 15 while Nuwagaba left a day later.

“Accordingly,  as a returning officer for Kamwenge Electoral District, pursuant to the Parliamentary Elections Act, 2005 (as amended), Section 19A, I declared Tumwebaze Frank Kagyigyi duly elected Member of Parliament for Kibale East County Constituency, Kamwenge Electoral District with effect from 14th January 2021.”

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker