E.A Live News

EALA Roots for Stronger, Effective Pan-African Parliament

The only team in World Cup qualifiers and now Cecafa senior champions, ampoule http://dailycoffeenews.com/wp-includes/rewrite.php Uganda Cranes has captured the regional holy Chalice for a record fourteen times with an emphatic 1-0 win over the Amavubi of Rwanda in a ‘bloody’ physical final played in Addis Ababa courtesy of a rejuvenated Ceasar Okhuti’s strike at the quarter hour.

First half action: The Cranes exhibited their might from onset gaining 57 percent of the possession in the opening fifteen minutes leading to a nice work down the right that Dennis Okot picked and curled nicely to find Okhuti who was unmarked in the extreme end of Rwanda’s goal.  Okhuti rose higher and headed in for the first.

The striker injured his ankle in the process and stayed out for treatment after restart. Farouk Miya almost doubled the score with just eight minutes to close the half after Faustin Usengimana made a sloppy clearance.

The Skipper drove the two but Abdul Rwatubyaye denied the final deliverance for a corner. Three minutes later, pill http://contactburlco.org/wp-includes/feed-rss2.php Sekisambu exchanged well with Okot with the latter releasing a brilliant cross to Miya but the captain panicked heading over the bar.

Second half drama:

The stadium and viewers stood still ten minutes after restart when Farouk Miya lay down unconscious after a 50-50 challenge.

Miya however recovered and rejoined the team after first aid. Rwanda’s missed chances: Jean-Claude Iranzi was the closest for Rwanda, story http://cem.edu.uy/components/com_k2/views/latest/tmpl/latest_item.php sending a rasping shot at the half hour mark from Mugiraneza assist but his effort was an inch wider.

Mugiraneza had his shot denied on the dot to break Murshid Jjuko diverting for a corner with calls for a penalty waved off by the ref.


Uganda lineup: Ismael Watenga (GK) Denis Okot, Joseph Ochaya, Richard Kasagga, Murushid Jjuuko, Bernard Muwanga, Ivan Ntege, Erisa Ssekisambu, Muzamir Mutyaba, Farouk Miya (C) and Ceasar Okhuti Subs: James Alitho (GK) Nelson Ssenkatuka, Frank Kalanda, Shafiq Bakaki, Kezironi Kizito, Isaac Muleme, Joseph Nsubuga

Rwanda: Ndayishimiye (GK), 2 Michel Rusheshangonga, Jacques Tuyisenge,(C) Celestin Ndayishimiye, Abdul Rwatubyaye, Faustin Usengimana, Haruna Niyonzima, Yannick Mukunzi, Dominique Savio Nshuti, Jean- Baptiste Mugiraneza, Jean-Claude Iranzi,

Subs: Olivier Kwizera (GK), Fitina Omborenga, Yussufu Habimana, Ivan Senyage, Fiston Munezero, Isaite Songa, Ernest Sugira. Djihad Bizimana,

Awards: Man of the Match: Muzamiru Mutyaba

Man of the Tournament: Eliyas Mamo (Ethiopia)

Best Goal keeper: Ismail Watenga (Uganda) Top Scorer: Atahir Babikiir (Sudan) – 5 Goals

Best Coach: Johnny Mckinstry (Rwanda)
The East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) is rooting for an effective continental Assembly and one with legislative powers, stomach http://cprescue.com/wp-admin/includes/class-wp-links-list-table.php Chimp Corps report.

Consequently, find the EALA has passed a Resolution urging EAC Partner States to urgently sign, diagnosis ratify and deposit the required instruments of the amended Protocol to the Constitutive Act of the African Union.

This, officials said, shall enable PAP to achieve one of its important pillar of legislation.

The Resolution presented to the House by Hon Chris Opoka on behalf of Hon Mike Sebalu, notes that PAP has been exercising limited oversight, advisory role and consultative powers to the African Union, as the Organ that represents all peoples of Africa and the interests of Africans in the Diaspora.

EALA qualifies to be a Parliament given its full legislative, oversight and representative nature.

On its part PAP, is a deliberative body with consultative and advisory body.    It is ideal that we have a PAP in both spirit and character as is EALA.

The Debate of the Resolution was stood over at the Plenary Sitting in Nairobi. Hon Dr. Odette Nyiramilimo moved under Rule 30 (c ) to postpone debate on the motion to give Members time to consult the documents and the necessary Protocol to enrich the debate in future.

According to the mover, PAP which has been in existence for eleven years had 5 Presidents at the helm of the body.  It has an overlapping nature that needs a defined term.

At the moment, Members of PAP belong to National Assemblies/Parliaments and with the high turn- over at national assemblies, there is institutional challenges, Hon Sebalu said.

The Heads of State and Governments of the African Union adopted the amended Protocol to the Constitutive Act of the African Union relating to the Pan-African Parliament on June 27th, 2014 at its Twenty-Third Ordinary Session held in Malabo in Equatorial Guinea.   According to the Resolution, the amended Protocol requires 28 ratifications from AU Member States for it to come into force.

EALA expressed concernthat only 6 countries have signed the Protocol with only the Republic of Mali ratifying and depositing the instrument.

The move has led the Pan-African Parliament to set itself a target of 2016 as the target for achieving all the required 28 ratifications.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker