EALA Election Guidelines Issued Ahead of Voting

Parliament has Monday issued guidelines to be followed by legislators while electing representatives to the East African Parliament.

A total of 47 candidates were successfully cleared by Parliament select committee and are set to face the electorate. Only 9 with be selected to represent the country in the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The guidelines were read to the candidates by Clerk to Parliament, cheapest Jane Kibirige who assured members that there will be ring-fencing slots to political parties as it has been the practice before.

“Members of Parliament (MPs) will vote only nine candidates and the best nine, thumb will be declared winners and gazzeted, this ” Kibirige told the candidates during the interface briefing them on the voting criteria.

EALA Elections at Parliament

The program released indicated that plenary will start at 9:30am and all candidates will allowed only seven minutes of campaign to convince electorates on why they should be entrusted to represent Ugandans.

Members will begin casting their votes after all candidates have campaigned and will take place at Parliament’s South wing parking supervised by Parliament staff and the Clerk shall serve as the returning officer.

“This is because of the large number of the members and all the four will cater for the different members depending on their alphabetical order and to ease the polling exercise,” the Clerk said.


A total of 47 candidates will face the ballot with independents, dominating at 37 followed by NRM 6, FDC 2 while UPC and DP each has one candidate.



Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker