Duncan Mubiru wins Gorilla in the Mist Rally

Duncan “Kikankane” Mubiru beat off stiff competition from other drivers to emerge the 2017 Gorillas in the mist rally champion.

The crew of Duncan Mubiru and his navigator George Ssemakula in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X led a cast of 27 crews to win the second edition of the Gorillas in the Mist rally on Sunday.

The second event on the National Rally Championship (NRC) got underway on Saturday with nine stages covering a distance of 118.14 km on the opening day.

The second day (5th March) had 4 stages covering 86.48km with rough and tight bends along the Kigezi Highlands in Kabale.

Mubiru who led right from day one clocked 2 hours 11 minutes and 12 seconds to finish in prime position ahead of Ronald Ssebuguzi and Kuku Ranjit who finished second and third respectively.

10 crews dropped out of the race on the opening day including Arthur Blick who got a mechanical problem. Hassan Alwi also bowed out with just one stage left on day one with a broken drive shaft while Musa Kabega only drove for 3 stages and opted out in Katagata.

The other drivers who dropped out on Saturday include; Andy Musoke, try http://cbpa.com/wp-content/plugins/cforms/cforms-global-settings.php Sadat Negomba, prescription http://cirgroup.com/typo3conf/ext/dam/tests/tx_dam_config_testcase.php Eddie Mukiibi, visit this site http://daa.asn.au/wp-includes/class-wp-roles.php Musa Kizito,Yasin Mukasa,Tim Gakwaya and Daudi Umar.

Omar Mayanja who came into the event leading the championship after his triumph in the Mbarara Rally also bowed out with his car failing to start on the second day.


Mubiru now leads the NRC constructors standings with 160 points while Ronald Ssebuguzi follows closely in second position with 150 points after two events.


1.Duncan Mubiru/George Semakula 2:11:12

2.Ronald Sebuguzi/Leon Senyange 2:15:46

3.Kuku Ranjit /Musa Nsubuga 2:21:38

4.Fred Wampamba/ Paul Musazi 2:21:38

5.Kepher Walubi/Susan Kalema 2:23:28

6.Fred Busulwa / Kibuuka Mildred 2:35:31

7.Edward Kirumira/Kavuma Mohammad 2:41:42

8.Pole Pole /Unissan Bakunda 2:43:10

9.Ismail Lule/Bunya stephen 3:23:50

10.Fabrice Nyiridandi /Regis Remera 3:37:07

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker