Cricket: Inaugural T-20 Elite League Attracts Three Teams

The Uganda Cricket Association (UCA) has launched an inaugural T-20 Elite League, a three team tournament following the cancellation of all 2020 activities due to COVID-19.

The Seven-day tournament was officially launched on Saturday 27th October at Kati Kati restaurant in Lugogo.

Three teams including Mambas, Bucks and Scorpions will face off in a T20 round robin format to determine the best two that will tussle it out in this year’s final.

The tournament that will attract the best players of the 2020 season, will be played at the Cricket Oval, Lugogo from 25th – 31st October 2020.

The major aim of the T-20 Elite League is to put the Cricket Cranes players in good shape and prove their credentials to newly promoted Coach Lawrence Mahatlane ahead of Uganda’s tour to Qatar in December.

Team auctioning also took place at the launch as highest bidders purchased the teams and grabbed their naming rights.

The principal reseve price of each franchise was set at Shs. 4m.

Shiva Koti purchased Scorpions at Sh5m, and renamed the team Aziz Damani Scorpions. The team will be captained by Brian Masaba.


Vahid Muhammed secured the Mambas at Shs 5m as well and renamed it Metro Challengers Mambas under the captaincy of Frank Akankwasa while the Bucks were bought by Tulsi Varsani at Shs. 4.5m.

Team Compositions:

Aziz Damani Scorpions

Brian Masaba, Zephaniah Arinaitwe, Calvin Watuwa, Charles Waiswa, Gerard Mubiru, Steven Wabwose, Trevor Bukenya, Derrick Bakunzi, Innocent Mwebaze, Wassim Butt, Lawrence Ssempijja, Jaffar Ochaya, Davis Karashani, Shazad Kamal
Coach – Michael Ndiko

Metro Challengers Mambas

Frank Akankwasa (Captain), Cosmas Kyewuta, Alex Obanda, Daniel Ruyange, David Wabwire, Hamu Kayondo, Henry Ssenyondo, Kenneth Waiswa, Lawrence Ssematimba, Rogers Olipa, Irfan Afridi, Emmanuel Hasahya, Perry Wazombe, Younos Sowombi
Coach – Jackson Ogwang


Arnold Otwani (Captain), Aneef Shah, Deus Muhumuza, Emmanuel Isaneez, Frank Nsubuga, Fred Achelam, Jonathan Kizza, Jonathan Ssebanja, Simon Oketcho, Simon Sesazi, Siraje Nsubuga, Richard Agamire, Robert Ajuna, Robinson Obuya
Coach – Habib Mugalula

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker