Crime & InvestigationNewsSport

COPA 2019: Police Boss Tear-gassed as Kitende Claim 9th Title in Jinja

Even the presence of the Assistant Inspector General of Police Andrew Sorowen, military police and a heavy presence of police officers could not deter rowdy crowds as St. Mary’s Kitende beat Jinja SS 3-1 to win their 9th Copa Coca Cola title on Saturday.

Jinja SSS went ahead as early as the 9th minute through a Lawrence Tezikya who headed his 13th goal of the tournament to detonate early celebrations in the crowd.

The Jinja side controlled a better part of the first half but hell broke loose in the second.

The Kitende side introduced a quick substitution in Umar Kyebatala just after the break.

The youngster went on to find the much-needed equalizer minutes later after Jinja SSS goalkeeper Lazarus Obulejo failed to swipe away a powerful shot by Richard basangwa.

National under-17 youngster Najib Yiga added salt to the injury just minutes later capitalizing from another goalkeeping error.

The crowd, mostly seated behind Jinja SSS goal, failed to contain the result and started pelting stones on the Kitende players who were celebrating in the nearby corner flag.

Police was forced to launch teargas cannisters around the stands to disperse the rowdy fans. The chaos stood for about 17 minutes before calm was restored.

The match resumed but, despite losing about 17 minutes, the referee Ronald Madanda added only four minutes.

The four did not elapse as the fans started throwing the stones again immediately after Basangwa found the third.

The referee was then forced to end the matcxh prematurely and award the win to Kitende.

The semifinals played a day before also saw nasty scenes of crowd violence and endless running battles between Police and a section of the home crowd.

Earlier on, Buddo SS had beaten Standard High School Zzana to win the bronze medal.

The three –Kitende, Jinja SSS and Buddo- will represent Uganda at the East Africa Secondary Schools games in Arusha, Tanzania later in August.

Lawrence Tezikya and Edrine Mukisa Opaala were crowned topscorer and most valuable players of the tournament respectively.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker