Featured Newslatest newsNewsPreviewSliderSport>Soccer

Confederation Cup: Vipers To Face Record Winners As KCCA Draw Congo Outfits

SC Vipers will face off with CS Sfaxien of Tunisia in the playoff round of the CAF Confederation Cup to see who reaches the group stages of CAF’s secondary club tournament.

Sfaxien are the joint record holders of the Confederation cup, together with Etoile Du Sahel. They have won it four times – 1998, 2007, 2008 and 2013. They were losing finalists in 2010, lost to FS Rabat of Morocco.

The draw was held on Friday (28 December 2018), evening at the Nile Ritz-Carlton in Cairo, Egypt.

Vipers, who started their continental journey in CAF Champions league, eliminated El Merriekh of Sudan before falling to CS Constantine (Morocco) to drop to the Confederation Cup.

Vipers SC will start at home

CS Sfaxien on the other hand, received a bye at the preliminary round. The side later ousted Zambia’s Green Buffaloes 4-2 on aggregate in the first round.

Uganda’s other representative KCCA FC will face one of the Continental’s minnows, A S Otôho D’Oyo from Congo. KCCA, who eased past Mtibwa Sugar, will host the second leg.

The first legs will be played on January 11-13 before the teams meet again on January 18-20 in 2019.


This play-off round includes 30 teams: 15 of the 16 winners of the Confederation Cup first round and the 15 losers of the Champions League first round.

The 15 winners of the play-off round advance to the group stage to join Étoile du Sahel, who advanced directly to the group stage as the winners of the first round with the best CAF 5-Year Ranking.

The draw in full
Gor Mahia FC (Kenya) Vs New Stars de Douala (Cameroon)

Al-Ahli Benghazi (Libya) Vs Hussein Dey (Algeria)

El Hilal (Sudan) Vs Mukura Victory (Rwanda)

Coton Sport FC (Cameroon) Vs Asante Kotoko (Ghana)

Nkana FC (Zambia) Vs FC San Pedro (Ivory Coast)

Zesco United (Zambia) Vs Kaizer Chiefs (South Africa)

Stade Malian (Mali) Vs Petroleos (Angola)

Raja Casablanca (Morocco) Vs African Stars (Namibia)

RS Berkane (Morocco) Vs ASC Jaraaf (Senegal)

Sfaxien (Tunisia) Vs Vipers FC (Uganda)

Zamalek (Egypt) Vs Tanger (Morocco)

KCCA (Uganda) Vs AS Otoho (Congo)

Bantu FC (Lesotho) Vs Enugu Rangers (Nigeria)

El Nasr (Libya) Vs Salitas FC (Burkina Faso)

Jimaa Aba Jifar (Ethiopia) Vs Hassania Agadir (Morocco)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker