CHAN: In-form Gift Ali Left Out of Cranes Provisional Squad

Uganda Cranes head coach Jonathan McKinstry has named a 34-man provisional squad that will kick off preparations for the 2020 African Nations Championship.

The list that contains locally based players was realized this morning at the FUFA House in Mengo.

The 34-man squad has four goalkeepers, eleven defenders, nine midfielders and ten strikers.

The roaster is filled with a blend of old and new faces that hope to raise the country’s flag high at the continental showpiece.

Some of the notable inclusions are KCCA youngster Herbert Achai, Bright Stars goalkeeper Godwin Buule Kiwanuka, Mbarara City’s Brian Aheebwa and URA’s forward Cromwell Rwothomio.

Surprisingly though, the gaffer has dropped in-form midfielders Gift Ali (KCCA) and David Bagoole (Busoga United).

The duo has been putting in some sublime performances over the past seasons for their respective clubs.

Charles Lukwago, the KCCA shot-stopper is included in the squad even though he is still nursing an injury he suffered in the club’s 1-1 draw against Express on match day 23.


The team is set to start a non-residential training session on Saturday 1st March at Luzira prisons playground.

The African Nations Championship (CHAN) tournament will take place run from 4th – 25th April, 2020 in Cameroon.

Uganda was pitted in group C alongside defending champions Morocco, Rwanda and Togo.

Full squad


Charles Lukwago (KCCA), Alionzi Nafian (URA), Saidi Keni (SC Villa), Godwin Buule Kiwanuka (Bright Stars).


Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Derrick Ndahiro (SC Villa), Herbert Achai (KCCA), Paul Willa (Vipers), Geoffrey Wasswa (Vipers), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Ashraf Mandela (URA), John Revita (KCCA), Paul Mboowa (URA), Samuel Kato (KCCA), Mustafa Mujuzi (Proline).


Said Kyeyune (URA), Shafik Kagimu (URA), Paul Mucurezi (Vipers), Bright Anukani (Proline), Muzamir Mutyaba (KCCA), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Hassan Senyonjo (Wakiso Giants), David Owori (SC Villa), Ibrahim Orit (Mbarara City), Julius Poloto (KCCA).


Andrew Samson Kigozi (Police), Viane Ssekajugo (Wakiso Giants), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Joackim Ojera (URA), Fahad Bayo (Vipers), Steven Mukwala (Maroons), Cromwell Rwothomio (URA), Brian Aheebwa (Mbarara City).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker