CECAFA U17: Uganda’s Final Squad Named

The Uganda U-17 girls team coach Ayub Khalifa, has named his final 20 players that will represent the country at the inaugural CECAFA U-17 Girls championship that gets underway at FUFA TC Njeru on Monday morning.

Khalifa selected and released the list from the 29 players who have been undergoing residential training in Njeru, after two crucial final training sessions on Saturday afternoon and Friday evening.

The team is largely made up of players who won the COSAFA championship in Mauritius this year where they featured as guests, but Khalifa has three faces of Uganda Martyrs defender Gloria Namugerwa, Amus College pair of striker Zaina Nandede and midfielder Esther Adokole.

“We have been working hard on team coordination and finishing, and I have much confidence in the players i have selected and hopeful we shall win this championship,” Khalifa said.

FUFA Communications Director Ahmed Hussein and the National teams Manager Patrick Ntege had a talk with the team in the morning before head coach Khalifa announced his final squad.  Hussein briefed players on media related matters and personal brand.

Uganda will start their campaign against Burundi in the day’s third and last match, with Tanzania opening against Eritrea in the first game at 11:00am while Djibouti takes on Kenya in the second game at 1:30pm.

The tournament that has attracted six teams will be played on a round robin with the top team with most points collected after five matches declared the winner.

Meanwhile, the teams that will take part in the event have already got chance to feel the turn in Njeru.


Tanzania, Djibouti and Eritrea have all successfully conducted their training sessions on Sunday morning while Kenya and Uganda later in the day.

Final Squad

Goalkeepers: Daphine Nyayenga (Uganda Martyrs HS), Joan Namusisi (Mukono HS) and Nasasira Gift (Gadafi Integrated HS),

Other players: Stella Musibika (Kawempe Muslim), Patricia Akiror (Masaka SS), Gillian Akadinda (Olila HS), Samalie Nakacwa (Kawempe Muslim), Shakira Nyinagahirwa (Kawempe Muslim), Kevin Nakacwa (Uganda Martyrs HS), Moureen Nangozi (Mukono HS), Bira Nadunga (Olila HS), Summaya Komuntale (King of Kings), Hadijah Nandago (Kawempe Muslim SS), Catherine Nagadya (Uganda Martyrs), Esther Adokole (Amus College), Zaina Nandede (Amus College), Gloria Namugerwa (Uganda Martyrs), Margret Kunihira (Kawempe Moslem), Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Moslem) and Fauzia Najjemba (Mukono High School)


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker