Catholic Episcopal Conference Gets New Leaders

Uganda Catholic Bishops in the country have elected new leadership where Archbishop Johnbaptist Odama of Gulu Diocese has been replaced by Rev Anthony Zziwa of Mityana Archdiocese as the new Chairperson of the Uganda Episcopal Conference (UEC).

Archbishop Odama has served 8 years as the chairperson for the Episcopal conference.

In the letter authored by the secretary General of the Episcopal conference John Baptist Kauta in the elections which were held on Sunday 12th November 2018 by Bishops at the Plenary held at St Augustine Institute Nsambya, new leaders were elected in various positions.

Bishop Anthony Zziwa will be deputized by Bishop Robert Muhirwa, and Cardinal Emmanuel Wamala as the patron.

The members include Archbishop John Baptist Odama , Archbishop Cyprian  Kizito Lwanga, Archbishop Paul Bakyenga and Bishop Callistus Rubaramira who doubles as chairperson for Finance and Administration.

Archbishop kizito Lwanga is the Chairperson for Justice and Peace, Bishop Sabino Ocan Odoki for Doctrinal, Bishop Sanctus Lino Wanok for Education, Robert Muhirwa for Health and Bishop Paul Semwogerere for Lay apostolate.

Others are: Lambert Bainomugisha for Legal Services, Christopher Kakooza for Pastoral, Bishop Joseph Franzeli for Social Communication and Francis Anquirinokibira for Priestly Formation.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker