CAF Passes Resolution to Expand AFCON

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has agreed to increase the number of teams that will compete at the African Cup of Nations.

The number of nations that will be participating in the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) have been increased from 16 to 24 starting from the 2019 AFCON in Cameroon.

CAF members agreed that Africa Cup of Nations will be contested by 24 teams a change from the old format that had 16 nations.

A decision on whether the finals will be moved from January and February to June and July is still awaiting.

Several proposals among them restructuring age group tournaments, marketing of CAF competitions, partnerships between governments and the continental football governing body, and inter-club’s competitions were also passed at the symposium held in Morocco.

The first edition of the competition brought together three teams, Sudan, Egypt and Ethiopia in 1957.

 In the third edition of 1962, six more teams joined the former three to make the total nine, before another expansion, was effected 30 years later, taking the teams’ tally to 12.

The figure remained until 1998 when four more were added to realize today’s 16.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker