latest newsNewsSliderSport>Soccer

CAF Champions League: Nduggwa’s Strike Lifts Vipers Past El Merreikh

Wednesday, December 5
SC Vipers 1-0 El Merreikh
(Game ends 2-2 on aggregate)
*Vipers progress on away goals rule.

Abram Nduggwa’s lone goal was enough to see Vipers edge El Merreikh in the CAF Champions League second leg tie played at St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende.

The result sees Vipers progress on away goals rule – The Venoms had lost 2-1 in the first leg played in Khartoum.

Despite putting up a non convincing display, Vipers managed to wobble past an experienced Sudanese side.

The visitors would have gone in an early lead inside the first ten minutes but Ahmed Mahmoud, with just a man to beat, fired across the goal.

Nduggwa (middle). DFCU photo

The first open chance for the hosts fell to Tito Okello who showed great composure inside the area but his resultant effort was deflected for a corner.

At the restart, Abraham Nduggwa scored from inside the box, after challenging off the goalkeeper to send the home fans into wild celebrations.

“It’s an exciting moment for me, it gives me confidence as a player but the most important thing is that the I have helped my team qualify,” noted Nduggwa after the game.


Coach Javier Martinez introduced Davies Kasirye and Noah Wafula to throw more bodies in front.

The visitors continued to press more – Mohamed Rahmen had his effort kept out for a corner as the forward failed to capitalise from Yayo Lutimba’s blunder in the 65th minute.

Substitutes Kasirye could have doubled the lead but he went for power to fire over the bar, from point blank range.

The Venoms. DFCU photo

It should be noted that in the first leg, Mzee Dan Sserunkuma scored a goal back to halve the deficit in late drama.

Vipers will meet winner between Gambia’s Gamtel and Algeria’s Constantine FC at the next qualification round where the Victor will storm the CAF Champions League group stages.

Teams Used:

Vipers XI
Bashir Ssekagya, Livingstone Mulondo, Moses Waiswa, Dan Sserunkuma, Abraham Ndugwa, Taddeo Lwanga, Brian Nkuubi, Tito Okello, Halid Lwaliwa, Yayo Lutimba, Geoffrey Wasswa.

El Merreikh XI
Monged Salman, Mohamed Mahamoud, Khaled Taha, Mohamed Rahman, Ahmed Mahmoud, Dhiya Musa, Salaheldin Nemer, Amir Suliman, Ahmed Ahmed, Mohamed Idris, Ramadan Agab Shareif

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker