Featured Newslatest newsNewsPreviewSliderSport>Soccer

CAF Awards: Uganda Cranes, Denis Onyango Nominated

Football governing body in Africa, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the list of nominees on Friday morning.

Uganda’s senior men’s team the Uganda Cranes and Captain Denis Onyango have been shortlisted for the flagship event.

The event that will honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Goree Island, two kilometres off Dakar, Senegal.

These, will be assessed on their performances from February 2018 to November 2018.

Onyango won the accolade in 2016, before it was changed.

It should be noted that the Cranes earn the nomination after a successfully qualifying to the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations that will be staged in Cameroon, with a game to spare.

The Cranes currently lead AFCON qualification group L with 13 points. The team has scored 7 goals from five games and are yet to concede from as many games.

Uganda won this prestigious accolade in 2016 – The year the side had returned to AFCON after a 39 year hiatus. Egypt are the current holders of the honour.

Last edition were held in Accra Ghana early this year.

The Cranes celebrate Kaddu’s lone strike that sealed the team’s spot on Cameroon. Courtesy photo

Uganda will compete with Guinea Bisau, Madagascar, Mauritania, Zimbabwe and neighbours Kenya for the gong.

National team captain and goalkeeper Onyango who also plays for Mamelodi Sundowns, has been nominated for African player of the year award.

Onyango will compete with 33 others – A list that include Aubemyang Emeric (Arsenal and Gabon), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester and Algeria), Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool), Ben Malango (TP Mazembe and DR Congo) among others.

Dynamic duo – Arsenal’s Iwobi and Aubemyang will be mentioned in the same line with Onyango. Courtesy photo

Statement From CAF:

There are thirty-four (34) players and 15 women players that have been nominated for the awards; Player of the Year and Women’s Player of the Year based on the performance of the players during the year.

The winners for the African Player of the Year and Women’s Player of the Year will be decided by the following:
1. CAF Technical & Development Committee
2. Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup
3. Coaches and Captains of the national teams of the 54 Member Associations.

Other categories namely Youth Player of the Year, Men’s Coach of the Year, Women’s Coach of the Year, Men’s National Team of the Year and Women’s National Team of the Year will be elected by:
1. CAF Technical & Development Committee
2. Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup.

Cranes held Nigeria in a recent friendly. Courtesy photo

Full list of the nominees

African Player of the year

1. Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria & ES Setif)
2. Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt & El Masry)
3. Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Al-Nassr )
4. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
5. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
6. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
7. Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco & Hebei China Fortune)
8. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
9. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
10. Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar & Clermont Foot)
11. Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)
12. Jacinto Muondo Dala ‘Gelson’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
13. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
14. Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Everton)
15. Ismail Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
16. Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo & AS Vita)
17. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
18. Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)
19. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
20. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
21. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
22. Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
23. Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Changchun Yatai, Nigeria)
24. Percy Tau (South Africa & Union Saint-Gilloise)
25. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
26. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
27. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
28. Taha Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
29. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)
30. Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Saint-Étienne)
31. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)
32. Wilfried Zaha (Cote d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
33. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)
34. Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Esperance)

Women’s African player of the year

1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
3. Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
5. Desire Oparanozia (Nigeria & Guingamp)
6. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
7. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
8. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
9. Gaelle Enganamouit (Cameroon & Avaldenes)
10. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
11. Marlyse Ngo Ndoumbouk (Cameroon & Nancy-Lorraine)
12. Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
13. Portia Boakye (Ghana & Djurgardens)
14. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
15. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Youth player of the year

1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)
2. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)
3. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Aax)
4. Ismaila Sarr (Senegal & Rennes)
5. Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)
6. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)

Men’s coach of the year

1. Corentin Martins (Mauritania)
2. Florent Ibenge (AS Vita & DR Congo)
3. Juan Carlos Garrido (Raja Club Athletic)
4. Moine Chaabani (Esperance)
5. Nicolas Dupuis (Madagascar)
6. Patrice Carteron (Al Ahly)
7. Rachid Taoussi (ES Sétif)
8. Herve Renard (Morocco)
9. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
10. Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Women’s Coach of the year

1. Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
2. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
3. Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)
4. Saloum Houssein (Mali)
5. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s national team of the year

1. Guinea Bissau
2. Kenya
3. Madagascar
4. Mauritania
5. Uganda
6. Zimbabwe

Women’s national team of the year

1. Cameroon
2. Ghana
3. Mali
4. South Africa
5. Nigeria

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker