latest newsNewsPreviewSliderSport>Soccer

CAF Awards: Onyango Misses Out As Final Three Are Revealed

Uganda Cranes Captain Denis Masinde Onyango has missed out on the final three slots for the most prestigious individual accolade in African football.

The Sundowns goalkeeper had earlier made the recent 10 man shortlist that was released last year in December.

The new list released by football governing body in Africa, CAF, has only three members that is Sadio Mane, Mohammed Salah and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

The final shortlist is a repeat of last year which saw Egypt and Liverpool star Salah walk away with the gong.

Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal), Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City), Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly) were the other players that had made the final ten.

It should be noted that Onyango has captained Uganda back to Africa Cup of Nations with still a game to spare, without conceding a single goal.

The Awards ceremony, to honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will take place on 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

CAF Preview:


Gabonese icon Aubameyang, maintains his familiar status amongst the top three finalists since 2014, thus five times in a row and equaling the record of Ivorian legend Yaya Toure and Ghanaian midfield supremo Michael Essien. Four-time Player of the Year, Toure, achieved the feat (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015) and Essien (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009). The 29-year old will be hoping to lay his hands on the enviable crown a second time.

Salah, 26, made history becoming the first Egyptian to be decorated Player of the Year since the inception of the awards scheme in 1992. It is the second time, he has made the final three and Salah has his eyes set on joining the elite league of players to win the honour back-to-back. Senegalese El Hadji Diouf (2001, 2002), Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon (2003, 2004) and Toure (2011, 2012) are the only three to win successive titles.

It is a hat-trick for 26-year old Mane in the top three, coming third in 2016 and second in 2017. He will be hoping to be third time lucky and become the second Senegalese to win the topmost individual honour after Diouf.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker